Apr 102024

David A. Adler (born New York, New York, 1947) is an award-winning children’s author. He has written over 265 books. One of his books is Lou Gehrig, the Luckiest Man. He also writes the Cam Jansen series. Children can visit his website at: David A. Adler.

Button Guinnett

Button Guinnett (born Gloustershire, England, 1735; died Savannah, Georgia, May 19, 1777) signed the Declaration of Independence. After he moved to Georgia in 1765, he prospered at farming. He became active in politics. However, he was killed in a duel. The British seized his plantation, and his wife and daughter died soon after. Children can learn more at: Button Guinnett.

Eric Oswald Mowbray Knight (born England, 1897; died in airplane crash while in the military during World War II, January 15, 1943) was an author. He and his wife moved to Bucks County, Pennsylvania, where he wrote Lassie Come-Home. Children can learn more at: Knight.

Clare Turlay Newberry (born Enterprise, Oregon, 1903; died San Diego, California, February 12, 1970) wrote and illustrated books for children. She earned four Caldecott Honor Awards: in 1939 for Barkis, in 1941 for April’s Kittens, in 1943 for Marshmallow. and in 1951 for T-Bone the Babysitter. Almost all her books were about cats. Children can learn more at: Cats. Children can also learn more at: Clare Turlay Newberry.

Richard Peck (born Decatur, Illinois, 1934; died New York, New York, May 23, 2018) wrote more than 30 books for children. A Long Way from Chicago was a 1999 Newbery Honor Book. A Year Down Under won the 2001 Newbery Medal.

Frances Perkins

Frances Perkins

Frances Perkins (born Boston, Massachusetts, 1880; died New York, New York, May 14, 1965) was the first woman cabinet member, serving as Secretary of Labor for President Franklin Delano Roosevelt from 1933 to 1945. Children can learn more at: Frances Perkins.

Commodore Matthew Calbraith Perry (born Newport, Rhode Island, 1794; died New York, New York, March 4, 1858) was the American officer who peacefully negotiated with the Japanese to open its harbors to world trade. He sailed into Tokyo Bay in July 1853. By combining diplomacy with a show of military power, he gained the trust of the Japanese. This agreement made Japan a world power by 1900.

Joseph Pulitzer (born Budapest, Hungary, 1847; died Charleston, South Carolina, October 29, 1911) was a journalist and newspaper owner. He came to the United States to fight in the Civil War. After the war he was a reporter for a Saint Louis newspaper. Later he became a part owner in the newspaper. For a while he served in the House of Representatives. He bought several newspapers and continued to be active in politics. His will provided money for the Pulitzer Prizes, including the areas of journalism, literature, drama, music, and public service. Idea: The Pulitzer Prizes have no special category for juvenile literature. Children could create their own prizes for their favorite books. Children could peruse an index of Pulitzer Prize winners at: Pulitzer Winners.

Martin Waddell (born Belfast, Northern Ireland, 1941) writes books for children. He received the Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2004 for his body of works. His works include the Little Bear books and the Mimi Mouse books.