Sep 162021
Papua New Guinea

Flag of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea celebrates Independence Day. The country became independent in 1975, but it remains part of the British Commonwealth. It is composed of the larger island of New Guinea, the second biggest island in the world, and 600 smaller islands. About 6.4 million people live in Papua New Guinea, and Port Moresby is the capital.

Share Button
Sep 222021

Women were allowed to attend military academies, per Congress, in 1975. Today roughly twenty percent of the academies’ graduating classes are women.

Share Button